Strangeness in Social Media


The theme for this week is social media hacking. Huffington Post contributor Bianca Bosker reveals startling insights on social media hacking in her article “I Was Just Friended By Myself On Facebook (And It Only Gets Weirder From There).”

I got a friend request from Bianca Bosker on Wednesday night.

I’m Bianca Bosker, one of just three on Facebook, so the notification took me by surprise.

What followed spooked me: When I finally scoped out this new Bosker at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, I found myself staring back at me.

Someone had created a Facebook profile under my name, with my picture, and with all my personal information — and then immediately friended me. This new Bianca had the same cover photo as the old Bianca (aka me); an identical list of jobs, schools and affiliations; and had “liked” the same pages I’ve “liked” — “Global Disaster Relief on Facebook,” “Roger Ebert,” and even Switched, an AOL tech site shuttered over a year ago. Even more disturbing was the fact that “Bianca Bosker’s” most recent status update was word-for-word, period-for-period, my most recent status update.

Only the Facebook profile photo was different. The fake account featured a picture of me that’s nowhere to be found on Facebook, but appears as one of the first results in a Google Image search for my name.

For the rest of the story click here.

Comments
2 Responses to “Strangeness in Social Media”
  1. Villa bodrum says:

    I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    • amARTS&MEDIA says:

      There shouldn’t be any extended loading times, because there’s just me loading shrunken image files and occasionally importing film trailers from YouTube. Thanks for the notice. I’ll take a look.

Leave a Reply

