Z is for Ziggurat


Today’s post comes in a little late, but for good reason. It’s been so rainy today I haven’t ben able to shoot the pictures until now. Take a look at my metalsmithing final I turned in this week. We established last month that I’m more like to use a font from the Hoefler type foundry then anywhere else with the Philly post.

I handcrafted this box out of 18 gauge copper and soldered the sides together to complete the box. It is enclosed with a front faceplate and three knuckle hinge. I also hammered each side piece to say a relevant quote about either typography or text, and it can still be used as a giant stamp. Then I heat treated it for extra texture and a little bit of flair.

Eventually I will construct another one building it side walls first rather than like a packaging project I would make in graphic design, but hey its finished and metalsmithing has a steep lerning curve. I’m proud of what I was able to accomplish in just two months.

Comments
One Response to “Z is for Ziggurat”
  1. autoblogging says:

    Appreciate you finding the time to discuss this unique, I believe boldy about it and also like reading through more about the concept. If prospective, once you create competency, what opinions replacing all of your internet having extra resources? This is ideal for others.

Leave a Reply

